Hey, Maan! Isha Birthday!

Video muna para may background music while reading this!

Sorry for not posting lately (2 months to be exact). I’ve been very busy with all these VA stuff that I forgot I have a blog to run, too! Haha! Well, to be honest, I’m not really that busy. I’m just not in the mood to write anything personal or what-not. Besides, I’ve been addicted to Juno Temple recently, so I’ve been watching some, if not most, of her movies.

Anyway, the main reason I’m writing today is because it’s my very very good friend’s birthday! See, if you’ve been following this blog or if you’re still following, you’ll know that this friend I’m referring to is Maan and, because it’s June 7th, I’m writing this for her. After all, she’s done something like this for me and for Teena; I think it’s just right to write something for her.

Now how do I begin to describe Maan…

Okay, you know what? It would have been easier to describe her through memes, but I don’t think internet memes would do this blog or Maan any justice. Besides, she is too special, and this post is too personal just to be reduced to an internet meme (Teehee!). Seriously though…

Man and I have been friends for a long time (yep, that’s what I call her. I still get to reduce her two-syllable nickname to one. Yey!) I think I got to appreciate the friendship I have with her during my senior years. After all the twists and turns of my college life (the last two to three years, that is), this simple comment definitely helped me through the darkest hours of 2009:

Please disregard the fact that she commented this at 5am. Thanks!

Please disregard the fact that she commented this at 5am. We sleep early – early in the morning. LOLOLOL.

Now don’t take this the wrong way. I have had a lot of friends in the past, but I only consider one or two as the best – even the greatest, and Maan is one of them.

Well, enough of all these teary, touching stuff, errkay? Let me list down 10 of the craziest things Maan and I did. Wouldn’t this just be appropriate to reminisce the good ol’ days and realize how we are such kids back then? And how we cuss like maniacs? Hahaha. This is in no particular order of awesomeness, but I realized all these things while reading Maan’s old blog. Look it up, big boy: It’s _____.wordpress.com. 😛

1) Our seemingly endless question and answer portion when Maan and I were drinking during my birthday celebration at Chiong’s (circa 2008?).

M: Kinsa man na si Ton-Ton?

G: Isko sa ABE.

M: Naa ba diay Isko ang ABE?

G: Naa. Si Ton-Ton.

M: Kinsa man na si Ton-Ton?

G: Isko gani sa ABE.

And the conversation went on and on. I’m not exactly sure why I kept answering her question, but I do know that we’re both drunk. End of story. ABE is BS Agri-Business Economics, by the way.

2) We climbed up the gates of Silva at 5:30 in the morning (circa 2007).

Now don’t take this the wrong way; we’re not thieves, burglars, or anything. Maan and I have our respective boarding houses, thank you very much. But, we just love spending time and getting drunk at Silva, where Jeje and JM lives (our other friends). By this time, Jeje and JM already have red flags for allowing Maan and I to sleep at their room without paying the transient fee and Mrs. Silva’s permission. But because we love breaking the rules, we had to make the ultimate sacrifice: Climb on the tall gate of Silva before anyone notices us.

Note: Almost everyone noticed us but Mrs. Silva. Mission Accomplished!

3) We text each other and pretend to be S and S (circa 2007 -second sem).

S and S were two guys living in Silva. They’re quite popular because they’ve been roommates since forever! Now they’re not gay or anything, but Maan and I like to play as if we were S and S, and we’re in love with each other. Who can blame us? The other S looks metro! Oopsie!!!

Note: S and S are hunks, IMHO.

4) KUMON moments – official first work experience (circa 2007).

She might have mentioned in her birthday post for me that we worked for KUMON because we share the same weakness: money and luho. But, that’s not exactly the crazy part. Since we love to drink as early as 2nd year college, and we are fond of drinking everyday, including Friday nights… well, you get the idea. We go to work with major hangovers! Hahaha. Imagine falling asleep while checking and drawing circles on the student’s work, or was that just me? But, we’re cool like that. 😛

5) Redge’s party (circa 2009)

Yes, Maan only gets drunk on a few rare occasions. But, when she gets drunk, it’s such a party! Redge’s birthday bash was, I believe, the ultimate drunken-Maan evaaaaaar! And, I’m no exaggerating this kasi Maingay pa rin! Ang ingay-ingay! (with matching slaps pa yan, ha! And, take note: We were laughing the whole time!!!)

6) Jet convo at work – Gtalk (circa 2011)

For the benefit of those who don’t know Maan personally, she talks funny sometimes – like out-of-this-world funny. You can have a conversation with her, and she can, without fail, insert something random that will surely make ROFL an understatement. And, I have a copy of this convo in my PC for blackmailing purpose. Kiddeng! 😀

7) Cutting classes (circa 2010)

I swear to you we have always been good students despite the mishaps here and there (see item 9). But for some reason, we began cutting classes when we were seniors. I know what you’re thinking: “We’re a little to late for this shenanigan.” Well, better late than never, right? And there two classes that always fall victim with this “rebellion”: Anthro and I think New Media.

8) Blogging plus comments (2009-present)

Maan always has this talent for writing, and her blogs have always been a blockbuster. Before Davao Mommy, she has a lot of blogs – from Multiply to Blogspot. But, what makes her blog seriously entertaining is not only the language and writing style but the comments, too! Here’s one screenshot of the comment I had on one of her blog posts. No links because I want you to look for it. Bahahahaha

Saya namin noh? Chatbox ang peg sa Comments? Ahahaha

Saya namin noh? Chatbox ang peg sa Comments? Ahahaha

9) Attending Crisis Communication class drunk (circa 2010).

I have this huge inkling that we’ve always thought we’re the coolest kids in school, and to put this coolness to a whole new level, we attended Crisis Comm drunk. It’s an 11:30 class, so we had drink as early as 6am. Walang ligo-ligo yan, ha!

10) Skype convo during Rarejob (circa 2009)

Rarejob is like the ultimate go-to job of students during its glory days. UP students who are broke and in dire need of cash turn to Rarejob because it’s like one of the easiest job to earn hard, cold, tumatigingting na 10k plus or more in a month. When I was still a student, I go back to my hometown and work in one of the internet cafes there. Because internet is intermittent, I have to transfer from one cubicle to another without logging out my Skype. Thus, this story from my old blog.

Fun ang friendship namin noh? Inggit ka? You should be. We’re like the best people you’ll ever gonna meet. She’s one of those people that you won’t be sorry for meeting.

Happy birthday, Man. I wish you all the best in life.

Maan and I. Deviance Day 2008

Maan and I. Deviance Day 2008

Disclaimer: This was supposed to be 23 kaya lang, ang hirap!

2 thoughts on “Hey, Maan! Isha Birthday!

  1. Dot face!!!! Hahaha mao diay ginabasa nimo akong coke blog! Ako na jud ang walay kamali-malisya! Trip to memory lane kaayo oi. I miss UP! I miss Mintal! I don’t miss dot face!!! (rofl)

    Thank you so much George. Naggugol jud ka og time and oras (sa daw?) para maalala imong best moments with me. Ana ko nimo ka-love. I think I wanna marry you.

    But seriously (*ehem*), thank you. Ani diay ang feeling na ginasulatan ka og blog entry. 🙂

    Thank you!!!

    • Hahaha. You deserve it oi! And, yes nagugol kog time for that – wala ko nagmovie for 2 days! Hahaha. Cguro kung 23 to kabuok, mas makahilak ka noh? Again, happy birthday. 🙂

Leave a comment